Clarion Area seniors honored at awards ceremony

Several students were recognized during a May 31 awards assembly at Clarion Area High School.

The awards include:

Clarion Area Education Association Scholarship-Valedictorian ($1,000) – Margaret Luthin

CAEA Scholarship-Salutatorian ($800) – Kyle Bettwy

CAEA Scholarships of $500 each – Samantha Kahle, Brendan Miller, Claire Saylor, Gabrielle Stewart, Natalie Thompson, Sophie Wolf

David W. Humphrey Memorial Scholarship – Michael Bartley, Kyle Bettwy, Claire Saylor, Madi Weaver, Sophie Wolf

Margery L. Himes Memorial Scholarship – Margaret Luthin

Most Outstanding Senior High Choir Member – Gabrielle Stewart

National School Choral Award – Eric Funk

Arion Band Award ($150) – Julia Love

John Philip Sousa Award ($250) – Claire Saylor

Doug Mortimer Memorial Scholarship ($500) – Natalie Thompson

Sen. Scott Hutchinson Good Citizenship Award – Claire Saylor, Brendan Miller

U.S. Marine Corp Awards: Distinguished Athletes – Anna Reed, Brendan Miller

Scholastic Excellence Award – Margaret Luthin

Semper Fidelis Music Award – Claire Saylor

U.S. Army Military Recognition – Alex Burkhart

Ben Carson Scholar – Nick Cherico

2016 Edgar Snyder & Associates “Words to be Heard” Scholarship Contest – Gabrielle Stewart

Continuing Education Citizenship Award-Odd Fellows Home of Western PA – Riley Fox

Clarion County Career Center-Technology and Maintenance Council Scholarship for Wyotech ($25,000) – Conner Henry

Clarion County Career Center-Top Senior in Program ($100) – Conner Henry

Clarion County Career Center-Most Improved Senior in Program – Conner Henry

Arendas Family Scholarship ($400) – Stephanie Slike

DAR Good Citizen Award – Claire Saylor

Nancy L. Fotos Scholarship ($500) – Keanna Over

Nancy L. Fotos Scholarship ($500) – Eric Funk

Donna Seigworth Spirit Award ($50) – Natalie Thompson

American Red Cross “Making A Difference” Educational Scholarship ($250) – Samantha Kahle

Betty Jo Kroh Erb Memorial Award ($500 each) – Anna Reed

Alan Peterson Academic Excellence Award for Softball ($500) – Johnna Rapp

Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference Scholarship ($100 each) – Claire Saylor, Kyle Bettwy

Larry Wiser Leadership Award ($400) – Brendan Miller

2016 Big 33 Athletic Scholarship ($1,000) – Brendan Miller